Kalachakra teaching and initiation

India E-Tourist Visa Essential Information

The Indian government introduced a tourist visa on arrival scheme on January 1, 2010. It was initially trialed for citizens of five countries. Subsequently, a year later, it was extended to include a total of 11 countries. And, from April 15, 2014 it was extended to include South Korea.

Effective from November 27, 2014, this visa on arrival scheme has been replaced by an online Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) system. The system has been implemented in phases and was extended to passport holders of 150 countries from March 1, 2016. This includes the 12 countries previously eligible for a tourist visa on arrival.


In April 2015, the system was renamed “E-Tourist Visa” by the Indian government, to remove confusion over the previous ability to get a visa on arrival without applying in advance.

Who is Eligible for an E-Tourist Visa?

Passport holders of the following countries: Albania, Andorra, Anguilla, Antigua & Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Aruba, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Canada, Cape Verde, Cayman Island, Chile, China, China- SAR Hongkong, China- SAR Macau, Colombia, Comoros, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Cote d’lvoire, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Denmark, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, East Timor, Ecuador, El Salvador, Eritrea, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Kiribati, Laos, Latvia, Lesotho, Liberia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Montserrat, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nauru, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niue Island, Norway, Oman, Palau, Palestine, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Republic of Macedonia, Romania, Russia, Saint Christopher and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent & the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Tonga, Trinidad & Tobago, Turks & Caicos Island, Tuvalu, UAE, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Uruguay, USA, Vanuatu, Vatican City, Venezuela, Vietnam, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

However, do note that if your parents or grandparents were born in or lived in Pakistan, you will be ineligible to get an E-Tourist Visa even if you’re a citizen of the above countries. You will have to apply for a normal Tourist Visa.

What is the Procedure for Obtaining an E-Tourist Visa?

Applications must be made online at this website, no less than five days and no more than 30 days before the date of travel.

As well as entering you travel details, you will need to upload a photograph of yourself with a white background that meets the specifications listed on the website, and the photo page of your passport that shows your personal details. Your passport will need to be valid for at least six months.

Following this, pay the fee online with your debit or credit card. You will receive an Application ID and the ETA will be sent to you via email within three to five days. The status of your application can be checked here.

The ETA will remain valid for 30 days from the date of approval.

You will need to carry a copy of the ETA with you when traveling to India and present it at the immigration counter at the airport. An immigration officer will stamp your passport with your e-tourist visa for entry into India.

You should have a return ticket and enough money to spend during your stay in India.

How Much Does it Cost?

The visa fee depends on the nature of the reciprocal relationship between India and each country. A detailed fee chart is available here. There are four different fee amounts, which are applicable as follows:

  • Free:Citizens of Argentina, Cook Islands, Fiji, Jamaica, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Micronesia, Nauru, Niue Island, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Seychelles, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Tonga, Tuvalu, Uruguay and Vanuatu.
  • $60: Citizens of US, UK, Russia, Ukraine and Mozambique.
  • $48: Citizens of the majority of countries including Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, China, Hong Kong, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Jordan, Kenya, Malaysia, Mexico, Myanmar, the Netherlands, New Zealand, the Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Taiwan, Thailand, and Vietnam.
  • $25: Citizens of Japan, Singapore and Sri Lanka.

In addition to the visa fee, a bank charge of 2.5% of the fee must be paid.


Note : In 2015 the Government of India has approved on arrival e-visa facility at Gaya International Airport for visitors from 87 countries including Europe, USA, Japan, South Korea and Thailand.


How Long is the Visa Valid For?

It’s a single entry visa that’s valid for 30 days, from the time of entry. The visa is non-extendable and non-convertible.

Which Indian Airports Accept E-Tourist Visas?

Your ETA is valid for entry at the following 16 airports: Ahmedabad, Amritsar, Bangalore, Chennai, Cochin, Delhi, Gaya, Goa, Hyderabad, Jaipur, Kolkata, Lucknow, Mumbai, Tiruchirapalli, Trivandrum and Varanasi.

How Often Can You Get an E-Tourist Visa?

Twice in a calendar year.

Need Help with Your Application?

Call +91-11-24300666 or email indiatvoa@gov.in



%d bloggers like this: